AWP Award Winner is Awarded Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book

March 1, 2006

An international judging panel, meeting in Kampala, Uganda, awarded the 2006 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best First Book Award to Doreen Baingana’s Tropical Fish: Stories out of Entebbe (University Of Massachusetts Press). The author won £1,000. Regional winners now enter the final stage of the 20th Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, the international award for outstanding fiction, which will be decided by a panel made up of the four regional Chairpersons in Melbourne and announced in March 2006. They join other regional winners from Canada and the Caribbean; Eurasia; and South East Asia and the South Pacific.  £10,000 will be awarded to the author of Overall Best Book, and £3,000 to the author of Best First Book. Doreen Baingana is a Ugandan writer who lives in the United States.  Her collection, Tropical Fish: Stories out of Entebbe, won the Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) Award in Short Fiction.  Ms. Baingana has also won the Washington Independent Writers Fiction Prize and was a two-time finalist for the Caine Prize for African Writing, in 2004 and 2005.   She was a Writer-in-Residence at the University of Maryland, College Park, in 2005.  She received her MFA degree from the University of Maryland and a law degree from Makerere University, Uganda.

Previous Story:
Sam Hamill Joins Curbstone Press
March 1, 2006
Next Story:
Betty Friedan Dies at 85
March 1, 2006

No Comments