The 2013 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards

October 1, 2013

The Rona Jaffe Foundation has presented its annual Writers’ Awards of $30,000 each to Tiffany Briere, Ashlee Crews, Kristin Dombek, Margaree Little, Kirstin Valdez Quade, and Jill Sisson Quinn. In it’s nineteenth year, the award seeks to identify and support exceptional women writers in the early stages of their writing careers. Established by Rona Jaffe in 1995, this is the only national literary awards program dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively. Since the program’s inception the Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million to up-and-coming women writers.

Past recipients include poets and fiction and nonfiction writers Tracy K. Smith (winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize in poetry), Eula Biss (winner of a National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry) , and Rivka Galchen (named one of The New Yorker’s top twenty American writers under the age of forty in 2010).


Next Story:
LibriVox Brings Free Audiobooks to All
October 3, 2013

No Comments