Martha Carlson-Bradley

New Hampshire, United States

Martha Carlson-Bradley is the author of four collections of poetry: If I Take You Here (Adastra Press, 2011), Season We Can't Resist (WordTech Editions, 2007), Beast at the Hearth (Adastra Press, 2005), and Nest Full of Cries (Adastra Press, 2000). A fifth collection, Sea Called Fruitfulness, will be released in 2013 by WordTech Editions. Her poems have been published in many literary magazines, including New England Review, Marlboro Review, Carolina Quarterly, Beloit Poetry Journal, and Zone 3, and in anthologies, such as The Poets' Grimm (Story Line Press, 2003). She has also published interviews with writers, book reviews, and articles about arts and humanities events. Her awards include the Robert and Charlotte Baron Fellowship from the American Antiquarian Society, an Individual Artist Fellowship from the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts, a grant-in-aid from the St. Botolph Club Foundation, and the Gretchen Warren Award from the New England Poetry Club. She also has extensive teaching experience. (For more information, visit


Carlson-Bradley grew up in Massachusetts, lived her in the South for ten years, and now lives with her family in New Hampshire, at the edge of a state forest. She works as a freelance editor



  • Nest Full of Cries , Adastra (2000)
  • Beast at the Hearth , Adastra (2005)
  • Season We Can't Resist , WordTech Editions (2007)
  • If I Take You Here , Adastra (2011)


  • St. Botolph Foundation Grant-in-Aid(2000)
  • Fellowship, NH State Council on the Arts(2005)
  • Gretchen Warren Award, New England Poetry Club(2007)
  • Robert and Charlotte Baron Fellowship, American Antiquarian Society(2008)


  • Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Warren Wilson College
  • Doctoral Degree in English from UNC Chapel Hill
  • Bachelor of Arts in English from Salem State College

Genres of Interest