Debra Allbery

North Carolina, United States

Member Since: 09/02/2008

Debra Allbery won the Grub Street National Book Prize for Fimbul-Winter (Four Way, 2010) and the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize for Walking Distance (Pittsburgh, 1991). Her work has appeared in The Kenyon Review, Poetry, TriQuarterly, FIELD, Iowa Review, Yale Review, and elsewhere. Among her awards are two fellowships from the NEA, two from the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts, the Discovery/The Nation prize, and a Hawthornden Fellowship.  She has taught in the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers since 1995, and has served as the program's director since 2009.


  • Walking Distance , University of Pittsburgh Press (1991)
  • Fimbul-Winter , Four Way Books (2010)


  • Grub Street National Book Prize in Poetry(2011)
  • NEA Fellowship(1994)
  • Sherwood Anderson Foundation Fellowship(1994)
  • Hawthornden Fellowship(1991)
  • Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize (1991)
  • Discovery/The Nation poetry award(1989)
  • NEA Fellowship(1986)
  • George Bennett Fellowship at Exeter(1985)


  • Director at MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College (June 2009 - )


  • Master of Fine Arts in Poetry from University of Iowa (June 1982)
  • Master of Arts in English Literature from University of Virginia (June 1994)

Genres of Interest

Fiction, Poetry