Elizabeth Evans

Arizona, United States


ELIZABETH EVANS is the author of six books of fiction, the most recent being the novel As Good As Dead (Bloomsbury, 2015). Her two short story collections are Suicide’s Girlfriend (Harper Collins) and Locomotion (New Rivers). Previous novels are The Blue Hour (Algonquin), Rowing in Eden (HarperCollins), and Carter Clay (HarperCollins). In 2010, Evans received the Iowa Author Award.  Other awards include a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the James Michener Fellowship, and a Lila Wallace Award. She has been a fellow at MacDowell Colony, Yaddo Foundation, the International Retreat for Writers at Hawthornden Castle, and other foundations. Evans received her Master of Fine Arts from the University of Iowa Writers Workshop. She served on the faculty of the University of Arizona’s Program in Creative Writing until 2014, at which time she became professor emeritus. Evans lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her husband, Steve Reitz.



Website: elizabethevans.org


  • Locomotion , New Rivers (1987)
  • The Blue Hour , Algonquin (1994)
  • Carter Clay , HarperCollins (1998)
  • Rowing in Eden , HarperCollins (2000)
  • Suicide's Girlfriend , HarperCollins (2002)
  • As Good As Dead , Bloomsbury Books (March 3)


  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • McDowell Fellow
  • Yaddo Fellow
  • Four Corners Award
  • James Michener Fellow
  • Centrum Fellow
  • Ucross Fellow
  • Hawthornden Castle Fellow
  • Iowa Author's Award(2010)


  • Professor at Program in Creative Writing, University Of Arizona (July 1987 - May 2014)


  • Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from University of Iowa (1979)
  • Bachelor of Arts in Art/English from Cornell College (1975)

Genres of Interest

Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Playwriting, Children's literature , Poetry