S194. A Tribute to Edmund White

Room 204AB, Washington Convention Center, Level Two
Saturday, February 11, 2017
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


This panel celebrates the enduring and groundbreaking career of Edmund White, one of the most influential living gay writers. His provocative works of fiction, biography, memoir, and criticism have sparked dialogues on the nature of the self in society for decades. Five writers—peers, colleagues, and those he has mentored—come together to discuss his work, life, and his influence on American letters. Edmund White speaks following the tribute.



Tom Cardamone is the author of the Lambda Literary Award–winning speculative novella Green Thumb, as well as other works, including Night Sweats: Tales of Homosexual Wonder and Woe. He edited The Lost Library: Gay Fiction Rediscovered and is currently working on an appreciation of Edmund White.

Alden Jones is the author of Unaccompanied Minors, winner of the New American Fiction Prize and the Lascaux Prize, and The Blind Masseuse, winner of the Independent Publishers Book Award in Travel Essays and a finalist for the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award. She directs the Cuba Writers Program.

Alexander Chee is the author of the novels Edinburgh and The Queen of the Night. He is a recipient of the Whiting Writers Award and an NEA Fellowship in fiction, and is an associate professor of English at Dartmouth College.

Alysia Abbott is the author of Fairyland, A Memoir of My Father, winner of the 2013 ALA Stonewall Award. She's a graduate of the New School's MFA writing program and teaches memoir at Grub Street in Boston. Her work has appeared in the Boston Globe, Vogue, Slate, Salon, and TheAtlantic.com.

Patrick Ryan is the author of The Dream Life of Astronauts and Send Me. His work has appeared in The Best American Short Stories, Tin House, the Iowa Review, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. A former editor at Granta, Patrick is an editor at One Story.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center