F126. Celebrating The Golden Shovel Anthology in Honor of Gwendolyn Brooks

AWP Bookfair Stage, Exhibit Halls D & E, Washington Convention Center, Level Two
Friday, February 10, 2017
9:00 am to 10:15 am


Join us in celebrating the release of The Golden Shovel Anthology honoring Gwendolyn Brooks, which comes out for her centenary. The Golden Shovel form, created by Terrance Hayes in honor of Ms. Brooks, encourages one to borrow in order to create. Poets will share their Golden Shovel poems and the Gwendolyn Brooks poem that inspired it, along with stories of their inspiration from/encounters with Ms. Brooks. The process of the anthology's creation will also be discussed.



Maura Snell is associate editor for The Golden Shovel Anthology honoring Gwendolyn Brooks and cofounder and poetry editor at the Tishman Review. She holds a BA in English literature from Marymount College and an MFA in writing from Bennington Writing Seminars.

Major Jackson is the author of four collections, most recently, Roll Deep. A recipient of a Whiting Award, Pushcart Prize, and Guggenheim Fellowship, Jackson is the Richard A. Dennis Professor at University of Vermont.

Sandra Beasley is the author of four books, including Count the Waves, I Was the Jukebox (Barnard Women Poets Prize), and Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales from an Allergic Life, a memoir. She is a 2015 NEA fellow in poetry. She teaches with the University of Tampa low-residency MFA program.

Marilyn Nelson, a three-time National Book Award finalist and the recipient of the 2012 Frost Medal, is a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets as well as poet in residence of the American Poets Corner at the Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine. Her most recently published books are My Seneca Village and American Ace.


March 8–11, 2023
Seattle, Washington

Washington State Convention Center