S205. Girls Who Run the World: Readings of Women in the Apocalypse

Marquis Salon 7 & 8, Marriott Marquis, Meeting Level Two
Saturday, February 11, 2017
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


To ignore the role of women in apocalyptic literature is to deny over half the world’s population their opportunity to survive, let alone thrive. In this panel, five established and emerging fiction writers give voice to female protagonists in dystopian landscapes ranging from a giant sand dune to a regional office. Through individual readings of their apocalyptic visions, these writers challenge outdated versions of women at the end of the world.



Alexander Lumans was the Spring 2014 Philip Roth Creative Writing Resident. He’s coeditor of Apocalypse Now, an anthology of dystopian work. He has received fellowships to MacDowell, Yaddo, VCCA, and The Arctic Circle Residency. He is currently at work on a dystopian novel set in the Arctic Circle.

Claire Vaye Watkins is the author of Gold, Fame, Citrus, and Battleborn, winner of the Story Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize, and the Young Lions Fiction Award, among others. A Guggenheim Fellow, she is an assistant professor in the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan.

Lucy Corin’s third book of fiction is One Hundred Apocalypses and Other Apocalypses. She was awarded the American Academy of Arts and Letters Rome Prize and an NEA, and she directs the creative writing program at the University of California, Davis.

Manuel Gonzales is the author of the collection, The Miniature Wife and Other Stories, and the forthcoming novel, The Regional Office Is Under Attack! He teaches creative writing at the University of Kentucky in Lexington and at the low-residency MFA program at IAIA.

Sandra Newman is the author of seven books, including How Not to Write a Novel and The Only Good Thing Anyone Has Ever Done. Her most recent book is a postapocalyptic novel The Country of Ice Cream Star, which was longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center