S208. Spinsters, Pretty Girls, and Bears, Oh My!: Four Decades of Lesbian Writing and Publishing

Room 403 A, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Saturday, April 2, 2016
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


Small lesbian presses were the wellspring of lesbian writing—romance, mystery, erotica, poetry, and literary fiction. How did these presses shape lesbian writers and readers? In the age of digital publishing that allows writers to bypass publishers for greater profits and autonomy, why choose to publish with a small press? How do small presses stay relevant? An editor with over 30 years of experience and a spectrum of writers, representing four presses, discuss the past and future of lesbian publishing.



Brandy T. Wilson, PhD, is the author of The Palace Blues, a Lambda Literary Award Finalist. Her work has appeared in Ninth LetterG.R.I.T.S., and PANK magazine. She was a Lambda Literary Retreat Fellow in fiction and was awarded three Bread Loaf Writer’s Conference scholarships.

Katherine V. Forrest is the internationally published, award-winning author of sixteen works of fiction including the lesbian classic Curious Wine and the Kate Delafield mystery series. A fiction editor for three decades, she is editor at large at Bella Books, successor to the legendary Naiad Press.

KG MacGregor has authored twenty-two lesbian romance novels. Awards include the 2008 Lambda Literary Award for Out of Love, six Golden Crown Awards, and the Alice B. Medal of Appreciation. She currently serves as president of Lambda Literary, the premier organization for LGBTQ literature.

Karin Kallmaker has been devoted to lesbian fiction since the publication of her first novel in 1989. In addition to multiple Lambda Literary Awards, she has been featured as a Stonewall Library Distinguished Author. Other accolades include the Ann Bannon and Golden Crown Trailblazer Awards.

Rita Mae Reese is the author of The Book of Hulga, a book of poems based on the life and work of Flannery O'Connor. She is a recipient of numerous awards, including a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award, a Stegner Fellowship in fiction, a “Discovery”/The Nation award, and a Pamaunok Poetry Prize.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center