R209. A Sarabande Books Reading

Room 403 A, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 31, 2016
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


As the winner of the inaugural AWP Small Press Award for excellence, creativity, and innovation, Sarabande Books has been one of the most distinguished of the small independent presses for over 20 years, praised for its wide-ranging taste and inspired editing. We celebrate some of the press’s recent offerings with a reading by five outstanding writers of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. A question-and-answer period will follow.



Kathleen Ossip is the author of four books of poetry: The Do-Over, The Cold War, The Search Engine, and Cinephrastics, a chapbook of movie poems. She is the coeditor of SCOUT, a poetry review website. She teaches at The New School.

Rick Barot has published three volumes of poetry with Sarabande Books: The Darker Fall, Want, and Chord. Director of the Rainier Writing Workshop, the low-residency MFA at Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma, WA, he is the poetry editor of New England Review.

Kerry Howley is the author of Thrown and an assistant professor at the University of Iowa. Her essays, fiction, and reportage have been published in the Paris Review, New York Magazine, the New York Times Magazine, and Bookforum.

John McManus is the author of the novel Bitter Milk and the short story collections Born on a Train, Stop Breakin Down, and Fox Tooth Heart. He is the recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, the Fellowship of Southern Writers’ New Writing Award, and a Creative Capital Literature grant.

Wendy S. Walters is the author of Multiply/Divide: Essays on the American Real and Surreal and two books of poetry: Troy, Michigan and Longer I Wait, More You Love Me. She is associate professor of writing at Eugene Lang College of The New School.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center