S126. Against Palatable Writing: Dismantling an Inherent Problem in the Workshop

Room 506, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Saturday, April 2, 2016
9:00 am to 10:15 am


Often workshops are driven by competitiveness and a need for validation, leading to writing that is a product of fear of failure rather than courageous exploration. This panel looks at the problems inherent in the workshop model as a normalizing force driven by shame and lack of openness to diversity/difference, in order to provide alternative means of fostering artistic growth and aesthetic risk in the creative writing classroom while working against the entrenched system.



Zach VandeZande is the author of the novel Apathy and Paying Rent and the forthcoming short story collection Lesser American Boys. He is also the coeditor of Critical Pedagogy and Global Literature: Worldly Teaching. He holds a PhD from the University of North Texas.

Caitlin Pryor's poetry is forthcoming or has appeared in Gulf Coast, Cold Mountain Review, Redivider, Nimrod, the Mississippi Review, Poet Lore, Fugue, and elsewhere. She holds a PhD in creative writing from the University of North Texas, where she is currently a lecturer in English.

Tanaya Winder is a writer, artist, and educator from the Southern Ute, Duckwater Shoshone, and Pyramid Lake Paiute Nations. She has a BA in English from Stanford University and a MFA in creative writing from UNM. She currently serves as the editor in chief of As/Us: A Space for Women of the World.

Geffrey Davis is the author of Revising the Storm, winner of the A. Poulin Prize. His honors also include a Cave Canem fellowship, the Anne Halley Prize, the Wabash Prize, the Dogwood Prize, and the Leonard Steinberg Memorial/Academy of American Poets Prize. He teaches at the University of Arkansas.

Dr. J. Andrew Briseño is an assistant professor of creative writing at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, Louisiana. His work focuses on the connection between student identity and learning outcomes in the creative writing classroom.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center