F134. Literary Foremothers and Filling the Gaps

Gold Salon 3, JW Marriott LA, 1st Floor
Friday, April 1, 2016
10:30 am to 11:45 am


This panel celebrates literary foremothers and addresses how they’ve been first acclaimed, and then lost and recovered. Each panelist presents on her foremother(s) and discusses how they influenced her writing. We share our relationships with these groundbreaking writers and reveal the pedagogical power of foremothers. Foremothers to be honored include Gwendolyn Brooks, June Jordan, Lorine Niedecker, Sylvia Plath, Muriel Rukeyser, and Sappho.



Jeanetta Calhoun Mish is a poet and prose writer, editor of award-winning Mongrel Empire Press, and contributing editor to Sugar Mule: A Literary Journal and to Oklahoma Today. She is director of and a faculty mentor for the Red Earth Creative Writing MFA at Oklahoma City University.

Leslie Samuels Entsminger graduated from Purdue University in 1979 in interdisciplinary engineering. She worked for Mobil Oil as a geophysicist before retiring in 1986. She is now a second-year graduate student in creative writing fiction at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia.

Renee Olander's poems have appeared in numerous journals, anthologies, and in the chapbooks A Few Spells and Wild Flights. Recipient of a Kate Smith Award for Poetry, a Benn Award for Creative Writing, and a Pushcart Prize nomination, Olander's essays, reviews, and interviews with writers have appeared widely.

Jan Freeman is a poet and the author of the forthcoming Blue Structure, Simon Says, nominated for an NBCC Award, Hyena, Autumn Sequence, and the chapbook manuscript, Silence. She directs Paris Press, which she founded in 1995 to bring back into print The Life of Poetry by Muriel Rukeyser.

Cheryl Pallant, writer and dancer, is the author of several books of poetry and nonfiction, most recently the poetry collections Continental Drifts and Morphs. Winner of the Theresa Pollak Prize and finalist for the Bechtel Award, she teaches at University of Richmond.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center