R188. Out of the Cradle: Writing Our Children

Room 502 B, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 31, 2016
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


This panel explores questions writers ask themselves about what or how much we feel free to write about our children. Do we owe them the same or different privacies on the page and online from those we preserve for other family members? Does genre, our gender, or the gender of our children matter in these boundaries? To what extent do or should race and class affect these boundaries? Do we have literary heroes or heroines who have answered these questions with eloquence before us?



Leslie Adrienne Miller’s sixth collection of poems is Y. Her previous collections include The Resurrection Trade, Eat Quite Everything You See, Yesterday Had a Man in It, Ungodliness, and Staying Up for Love. She is a full professor of English at the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota.

Debra Gwartney is the author of the memoir, Live Through This, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Award. She is coauthor of Home Ground: Language for an American Landscape. She teaches in the low-residency program at Pacific University.

Aimee Nezhukumatathil is the author of three books of poetry, most recently, Lucky Fish. Honors include the Pushcart Prize and a poetry fellowship from the NEA. She is professor of English at SUNY-Fredonia.

Jon Pineda is the author of the novel Apology, winner of the 2013 Milkweed National Fiction Prize. His memoir Sleep in Me was a B&N Discover Great New Writers selection. His poetry collections include The Translator's Diary and Birthmark. He teaches creative writing at the University of Mary Washington.

Matthew Batt is the author of the memoir Sugarhouse, and the recipient of a McKnight Fellowship and an NEA Individual Artist Grant. His work has appeared in Tin House, Mid-American Review, The Huffington Post, and elsewhere. He is an associate professor at the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center