R142. Raising Lilly Ledbetter: Women Poets Occupy the Workspace—an Anthology Reading and Celebration

Room 403 B, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 31, 2016
10:30 am to 11:45 am


After President Obama signed the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act, the editors of this anthology called for women poets of all backgrounds and job descriptions to share their workplace experiences—not just pay and promotion inequity, or workplace harassment and intimidation, but women’s ever-widening range of occupations and representation in a globalized world. Join the event to occupy the reading space with five poet contributors to this groundbreaking anthology that celebrates women in the workplace.



Carolyne Wright has nine books of poetry, including Seasons of Mangoes and Brainfire, and A Change of Maps; and five books of poetry in translation from Spanish and Bengali, including Majestic Nights: Love Poems of Bengali Women. A former AWP board member, she teaches for the NILA MFA program near Seattle.

Vandana Khanna is the author of two books of poetry: Train to Agra and Afternoon Masala. She teaches at the University of Southern California.

Jacqueline Osherow is author of six books of poetry, most recently Whitethorn. Her seventh, White on White, is forthcoming. She’s received the Witter Bynner Prize and grants from the NEA, Guggenheim, and Ingram Merrill Foundations. She directs the creative writing program at the University of Utah.

Kim Addonizio's latest books are The Palace of Illusions (stories) and My Black Angel: Blues Poems & Portraits. She is the author of five other poetry collections, two novels, and two books on writing poetry, The Poet's Companion (with Dorianne Laux) and Ordinary Genius.

Elaine Sexton is the author of three books of poetry, the forthcoming, Prospect/Refuge; Causeway; and Sleuth. A critic, editor, and educator, Sexton is a member of the National Book Critics Circle. She teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, NYU, and other writing programs.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center