F163. Out of Denmark: Danish Novelists and Their Work

Room L100 H&I, Lower Level
Friday, April 10, 2015
10:30 am to 11:45 am


Hans Christian Andersen, Karen Blixen (Isak Dinesen), Peter Høeg—all Danish writers whose work has received worldwide acclaim. But what about Danish literature today? Who are its emerging stars? In recent years, there has been a resurgence of Danish authors translated into English. At our panel, Danish novelists and translators read from their work and discuss how it fits (or does not fit) into the topography of domestic and international literary landscapes.



K.E. Semmel is an independent writer and translator who has translated six books of fiction, including Karin Fossum’s The Caller; Jussi Adler-Olsen’s The Absent One, and Simon Fruelund’s Milk. He is the recipient of numerous translation grants from the Danish Arts Council.

Naja Marie Aidt is a Danish poet and author with nearly twenty works in various genres to her name. Her work includes the recently translated collection Baboon, winner of the prestigious Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2008, and a novel, Rock, Paper, Scissors, which is forthcoming in the US. 

Simon Fruelund is the author of five books, including Civil Twilight and Milk & Other Stories. His work has been translated into Italian, Swedish, and English, and his short stories have appeared in a number of magazines across the US, including World Literature Today, Redivider, and Absinthe.

Martin Aitken is a widely published translator of Danish literature. He received the American-Scandinavian Foundation’s Nadia Christensen Translation Prize in 2012. Recent books are Peter Høeg’s The Elephant Keepers’ Children, Dorthe Nors’ Karate Chop, and Kim Leine’s The Prophets of Eternal Fjord.

Kim Leine is a Danish-Norwegian author. He lived in Greenland for fifteen years, and draws on his experiences there in his work. His most recent book, the historical novel The Prophets of Eternal Fjord, received several major Danish literary awards, as well as the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2013.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center