F177. 20 Years of Diversity: The University of Arizona Press Celebrates the Camino del Sol Literary Series

Room 200 H&I, Level 2
Friday, April 10, 2015
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


Since 1994, The University of Arizona Press has published new and established voices in Latino letters in its award-winning Camino del Sol literary series. In two decades, Camino del Sol has cultivated an admirable and sizeable list of distinguished contemporary authors, including those who’ve earned accolades from the National Book Critics Circle, the Before Columbus Foundation, and the PEN American Center. Camino del Sol founder will join writers to present brief readings.



Ray Gonzalez is the author of twenty-one books of poetry, nonfiction, and fiction, including Soul Over Lightning and Beautiful Wall. He is a professor in the MFA program at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

Julie Sophia Paegle is the author of the poetry collection torch song tango choir, named by Poets & Writers as one of the nation’s premiere debuts, and Twelve Clocks. Paegle teaches in the graduate program at California State University, San Bernardino, where she is poetry coordinator.

J. Michael Martinez's first book was awarded the Walt Whitman Award from the Academy of American Poets. His second book is In the Garden of the Bridehouse. He is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Colorado, Boulder.

Edwin Torres is the author of nine books of poetry, including Ameriscopia, Yes Thing No Thing, and The PoPedology of An Ambient Language. Anthologies include American Poets in the 21st Century: The New Poetics Vol. 2American Poetry, and Kindergarde.


March 8–11, 2023
Seattle, Washington

Seattle Convention Center