R240. 10 Years of CantoMundo: Founders, Faculty, and Fellows

HemisFair Ballroom C1, Henry B. González Center, Ballroom Level
Thursday, March 5, 2020
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


Join CantoMundo for a discussion on contemporary Latinx letters, the history of CantoMundo, and what’s ahead for us. Each poet will also do a short reading.


Willie Perdomo is the author of The Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon, Smoking Lovely, and Where a Nickel Costs a Dime. He is a PEN Beyond Margins Award winner, finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry, International Latino Book Award, and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award.

Deborah Paredez is the author of the poetry volumes, This Side of Skin and Year of the Dog, and the critical study, Selenidad: Selena, Latinos, and the Performance of Memory. She is an associate professor at Columbia University and cofounder of CantoMundo, a national organization for Latinx poets.

Denice Frohman is an award-winning poet, performer and educator. She is a CantoMundo Fellow, former Women of the World Poetry Slam Champion and Leeway Transformation Award recipient. Her work has appeared in Nepantla: An Anthology for Queer Poets of Color, the Acentos Review, ESPNW, and more.

March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center