F295. Latino Caucus

Room 214D, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Friday, March 6, 2020
6:30 pm to 7:45 pm


Latinx writers are becoming increasingly visible in literary spaces. However, there is still work to be done to address inequalities in access and visibility. A Latino Caucus creates space to network with new, emerging, and established writers of varied Latino identities, to discuss issues around the obstacles to publication (e.g., active oppression and cultural marginalization) and to discuss panel and event planning to increase Latinx participation at AWP.



David Campos, a CantoMundo fellow, is the author of Furious Dusk and the forthcoming American Quasar. His poems have appeared in the American Poetry ReviewBoxcar Review, and LunaLuna, among many others. He teaches English in the Puente Program at Fresno City College.

Ahimsa Timoteo Bodhrán, an NEA and Tulsa Artist Fellow, is a multimedia artist and author of Antes y después del Bronx: Lenapehoking and South Bronx Breathing Lessons. He edited Yellow Medicine Review's global queer Indigenous issue and coedited Movement Research Performance Journal's Native issue.

Mia Leonin has published a memoir and four collections of poetry, most recently, Fable of the Pack-Saddle Child, an illustrated, book-length poem. Her poems appears in numerous journals such as New Letters, Prairie Schooner, and Guernica. She teaches creative writing at the University of Miami.

Joseph Rios is a poet and the author of Shadowboxing: Poems and Impersonations, winner of the Before Columbus American Book Award and named a notable debut by Poets and Writers. He has been published in the Rumpus, San Francisco Chronicle, The Normal School, Southern Humanities Review, and elsewhere.

Steven Sanchez is the author of Phantom Tongue, winner of the Rochelle Ratner Memorial Award. A CantoMundo Fellow, Lambda Literary Fellow, and winner of the inaugural García Lorca Poetry Prize, he is the cofounder of Fecund Stitch, a BIPOC writers' collective based in central California.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center