R140. CANCELLED: “This Possibility of You": Bi+ Visibility in Poetry

Room 302, Henry B. González Convention Center, Ballroom Level
Thursday, March 5, 2020
9:00 am to 10:15 am


June Jordan’s “Poem for My Love” marvels in “this possibility of you,” the ungendered beloved. This panel will explore the complex possibilities for the ways that bi+ sexualities—that is, any nonmonosexuality—are rendered and/or erased in poetry and the literary community. What defines a bi+ poetics? We will look at historic and contemporary examples, and participants will discuss the ways they intersectionally engage bi+ desire, identity, and experiences in their own writings.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP20-Bi+-Event_Outline.pdf



Emilia Phillips (she/her/hers) is the author of three books, including Empty Clip. Her poetry appears in AGNI, Boston Review, The Kenyon Review, Ploughshares, Poetry, and elsewhere. She's an assistant professor of poetry in the MFA writing program at UNC-Greensboro.

Ruth Awad is a Lebanese American poet and the author of Set to Music a Wildfire, which won the 2016 Michael Waters Poetry Prize from SIR Press. She is the recipient of a 2016 Ohio Arts Council Individual Excellence Award, and she won the 2012 and 2013 Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize.

Marcelo Hernandez Castillo is a poet, essayist, and translator. He is the author of Cenzontle, winner of the A. Poulin, Jr. Prize, Dulce, and Children of the Land. A CantoMundo Fellow, he cofounded the Undocupoets campaign.

Trace Peterson is a trans woman poet critic. Author of the poetry collection Since I Moved In, she is also founding editor/publisher of EOAGH Books which has won two Lambda Literary Awards, and coeditor of the anthology Troubling the Line, which was a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award in 2014.

Rosebud Ben-Oni received a 2014 NYFA Fellowship in Poetry and a CantoMundo Fellowship in 2013. She is the author of Solecism, a poetry collection, and an editorial advisor for VIDA: Women in Literary Arts.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center