F284. Indigenous-Aboriginal American Writers Caucus

Room 214A, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Friday, March 6, 2020
5:00 pm to 6:15 pm


Indigenous writers and scholars participate fluidly in AWP, teaching, directing affiliated programs, working as independent writers or scholars, and/or within community language revitalization efforts. Annually imparting field-related craft, pedagogy, celebrations, and concerns as programming understood by Indigenous-Native writers from the Americas and surrounding island nations is necessary.  Our caucus began its discussions at the 2010 AWP Conference. Essential program development continues in 2020.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: 2020_IAAWC_Agenda.pdf



Margo Tamez, author of Naked Wanting and Raven Eye. Her work has appeared in Indigenous Message on Water, Red Ink, [...]. Associate professor of Indigenous Studies with an MFA (poetry), UBCO | Unceded Syilx Territory (Canada). Her work in progress is Father | Genocide: New & Selected Work, 20092019.

Oscar Hokeah is a regionalist Native American writer of literary fiction, interested in capturing intertribal, multicultural, and transnational aspects within a contemporary Native landscape. He is half Native American (Kiowa/Cherokee) and half Hispanic.

Carolyn M. Dunn is an Indigenous poet, playwright, editor, and publisher and the author/editor of seven books, including three books of poetry. Her first collection, Outfoxing Coyote, was recognized as Book of the Year by the Native Writers Circle of the Americas in 2002.

Crisosto Apache is an enrolled member of the Mescalero Apache Tribe with descent from Mescalero, Chiricahua Apache, and Diné (Salt Clan born for Towering House Clan). He has an MFA from IAIA. He teaches and pursues the advocacy of Native American / Indigenous LGBTQ social injustice.

Jake Skeets is Black Streak Wood, born for Water's Edge. He is Diné from the Navajo Nation. A graduate of the Low-Rez IAIA MFA program, he currently works at Diné College. He is one of the winners of the 2018 "Discovery"/Boston Review Poetry Prize.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center