F263. Launching the Two-Year Creative Writing Program

Room 212, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Friday, March 6, 2020
3:20 pm to 4:35 pm


Students from two-year colleges stand to gain exponentially from creative writing certificate, AA, and AFA programs, but moving from elective courses to program status can prove a daunting challenge. Faculty from around the country who have successfully launched programs or who are in the trenches right now will share tips on making the proposal, dealing with budgetary concerns and administrative resistance, program design, inclusivity and diversity in curriculum, and articulation agreements.



Joe Baumann teaches composition, literature, and creative writing at St. Charles Community College, where he leads the creative writing program. He possesses a PhD in creative writing from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Mary Lannon, an associate professor at Nassau Community College, has stories published at Story and New World Writing and was named a finalist in Iron Horse Literary Review's Trifecta Contest for the long short story. Revising a second novel, she is looking for a publishing home for her first novel.

Simone Zelitch teaches at Community College of Philadelphia where she founded their creative writing certificate. She is the author of five novels including Louisa, an adaptation of the Book of Ruth, and most recently Judenstaat, set in a Jewish state established in Germany in 1948.

Marlys Cervantes serves as department chair of humanities and communication and director of the creative writing program at Cowley College in Arkansas City, Kansas. She teaches literature and writing courses, as well as serving as codirector of the Multi-Cultural Scholars Program.

Angelique Stevens is a professor in upstate New York where she teaches creative writing and genocide literature. Her nonfiction can be found in The New England Review, Lit Hub, The Sun, The Chattahoochee Review, and a number of anthologies. She holds an MFA from Bennington College.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center