R168. CANCELLED: The Futures of Documentary and Investigative Poetries

Room 217B, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 5, 2020
10:35 am to 11:50 am


Investigative or documentary poetry situates itself at the nexus between literary production and journalism, where the mythic and factual, the visionary and political, and past and future all meet. From doing recovery projects to performing rituals of healing to inventing forms, panelists will share work (their own and others') and discuss challenges in docupoetic writing and its futures: the ethics of positionality, appropriation, fictionalizing, collaboration, and political engagement.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_2020_Futures_of_Documentary_Poetry.docx



Philip Metres is the author and translator of a number of books, including Shrapnel Maps, Sand Opera, Pictures at an Exhibition, and To See the Earth. His work has appeared in Best American Poetry, has garnered a Lannan Fellowship, two NEAs, two Arab American book awards, and the Hunt Prize.

Solmaz Sharif is the author of Look, which was a finalist for the National Book Award. Her poems have appeared in Granta, The New Republic, Poetry, and elsewhere. She is currently a Jones Lecturer at Stanford University.

Erika Meitner is the author of five books of poems, including Holy Moly Carry Me, which won the 2018 National Jewish Book award, and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle award. She is an associate professor of English and creative writing program director at Virginia Tech.

Dr. Craig Santos Perez is a native Chamoru from the Pacific Island of Guam. He is the author of four poetry books and the coeditor of four anthologies. He is an associate professor and director of the creative writing program in the English department at the University of Hawai’i, Mānoa.

Tyehimba Jess' Olio won the Pulitzer Prize, Anisfield-Wolf, Society of Midland Authors Poetry Award and recognition from the BCALA. His first book, Leadbelly, won the National Poetry Series. A NEA, Whiting, Guggenheim and Lannan Foundation Award winner, he teaches at College of Staten Island.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center