R212. Managing Literary Magazine Editorial Transitions

Room 006A, Henry B. González Convention Center, River Level
Thursday, March 5, 2020
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


Literary magazines undergo constant change, whether it's the expected turnover of editors at student-run publications or the unexpected change of an editor moving on from a place she's been for years. Panelists with a range of experience in print and online journals will explore best practices for managing these transitions, whether expected or unexpected.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Managing_Literary_Transitions_Outline.docx



Christopher Lowe is the author of Those Like Us: Stories, You're the Tower: Essays, and A Guest of the Program: Stories. His writing has appeared in Greensboro Review, Brevity, Third Coast, and elsewhere. He teaches in the MFA program at McNeese State University and edits The McNeese Review.

Dorothy Chan is the author of two poetry collections, Revenge of the Asian Woman and Attack of the Fifty-Foot Centerfold. She is an assistant professor of creative writing at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, the former editor of The Southeast Review, and poetry editor of Hobart.

Michael Nye is the author of two books, the story collection Strategies Against Extinction and the novel All the Castles Burned. His work has appeared in Kenyon Review, Cincinnati Review, Epoch, Lit Hub, and Crab Orchard Review, among many others. He is the editor of Story.

Leslie Jill Patterson's work has appeared in Pushcart XLIII, Prime Number Magazine, Hotel Amerika, and other journals. She teaches at Texas Tech University and serves as editor of Iron Horse. Her awards include a Soros Justice Fellowship and the Richard J. Margolis Award for Social Justice Writing.

Maureen Langloss is a lawyer-turned-writer living in New York City. She serves as the flash fiction editor at Split Lip magazine. Her writing has appeared or is forthcoming in Best Small Fictions, Gulf Coast, Little Fiction, Sonora Review, The Journal, Wigleaf, and elsewhere.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center