F327. Latino Caucus

F150, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Friday, March 29, 2019
6:00 pm to 7:15 pm


Latino writers are becoming increasingly visible in literary spaces. However, there is still work to be done to address inequalities in access and visibility. A Latino Caucus creates space to network with new, emerging, and established writers of varied Latino identities, to discuss issues around the obstacles to publication (e.g. active oppression and the cultural marginalization of Latinos), and to discuss panel and event planning to increase Latino participation at AWP.



Suzi F. Garcia has an MFA in poetry with minors in Gender Studies and Screen Cultures. She is a poetry editor at Noemi Press, a CantoMundo Fellow, Macondonista and her work is published or forthcoming from the University of Arizona Poetry Blog, VinylFence, the OffingDrunken Boat, and more.

Ahimsa Timoteo Bodhrán, an AWP WC&C Scholar, is a multimedia artist and author of two poetry collections, Antes y después del Bronx: Lenapehoking and South Bronx Breathing Lessons. A widely published nonfiction writer, he is editor of Yellow Medicine Review's international queer Indigenous issue.

Raina J. León is Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief of The Acentos Review, and the author of three poetry books: Canticle of Idols, Boogeyman Dawn, and sombra: (dis)locate. She is a member of the Cave Canem, CantoMundo, Macondo, and Carolina African American Writers Collective communities.

Alexandra Lytton Regalado is cofounder of Kalina press, based in El Salvador, and she is author, editor, and/or translator of more than ten Central American-themed books including Vanishing Points and Theatre Under My Skin. Her poetry collection, Matria, is the winner of the St. Lawrence Book Prize.

Casandra Lopez, a Chicana/Cahuilla/Tongva/Luiseño writer is the author of the poetry collection Brother Bullet and Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief of As/Us. A CantoMundo and Jack Straw fellow, and Santa Fe Art Institute, SAR, and Hedgebrook resident, she teaches at Northwest Indian College.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center