R324. Two-Year College Caucus

F151, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Thursday, March 28, 2019
6:00 pm to 7:15 pm


Do you teach at a two-year college? Interested in job opportunities at two-year colleges? Join us for our annual networking meeting. With almost half of all students beginning college careers at two-year colleges, and increasing numbers of MFAs landing two-year college teaching jobs, the future of creative writing courses and programs at our campuses looks bright. Panelists will discuss teaching creative writing at the two-year college, hold a short business meeting, and provide tangible resources.



Maria Brandt directs Creative Writing at Monroe Community College in Rochester, NY. She is the author of the novella All The Words and the short-play collection NY Plays. Her short fiction has been published in several literary magazines, and her plays have been developed or produced around the country.

Beth Beatrice Smith received her BA in English from Wesleyan University and her MFA in creative writing from The New School. She has taught in the English department at Nassau Community College since 2006 and joined the staff of The Nassau Review in 2012.

David Renshaw has taught full-time at Community College of Philadelphia since the fall 2014 semester. He regularly teaches creative writing and composition classes. His creative writing background is in scripts. He also coordinates the Judith Stark Creative Writing Contest at CCP.

Lynn Kilpatrick is the author of the story collection, In the House. Her essays have appeared in Creative Nonfiction, Ninth Letter, and Brevity. She earned a PhD in Fiction from the University of Utah and an MA from Western Washington University. She teaches at Salt Lake Community College.

Marianne Taylor is a prize-winning poet whose manuscript, Salt Water, Iowa, has been a finalist in prestigious contests. Her work appears widely in national journals and anthologies; she also writes and directs plays and teaches creative writing and literature at Kirkwood Community College, Iowa.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center