S224. Not Sorry: Five Canadian Poets

D133-134, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Saturday, March 30, 2019
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


“By Canada I have always been fascinated,” writes Matthew Zapruder, a not-uncommon fetishizing of the friendly, progressive neighbour to the north. How does a national poetics develop under this false yet compelling illusion? Lauded as belonging to the "next wave,” of Canadian poets, these five readers defy expectations. The aim is not to "get along with everyone," but to interrogate our dark, dysfunctional sides, as in Ali Blythe: “Good morning, my unattractive / tendency, I’ve made coffee.”


Sheryda Warrener is the author of two poetry collections, most recently Floating is Everything. In 2017, she won the Thomas Morton Memorial Prize. She lives in Vancouver, where she’s a lecturer in the Creative Writing program at University of British Columbia and facilitates Artspeak Gallery’s Studio for Emerging Writers.

Kayla Czaga is the author of For Your Safety Please Hold On, which was nominated for the Governor General's Award for poetry. She holds an MFA from UBC and her poetry has appeared in journals in Canada and the US. Her second collection of poetry is forthcoming from House of Anansi in 2019.

Ali Blythe's critically acclaimed first book, Twoism, explores trans-being poetics and desire. He is winner of the Vallum Award for Poetry, finalist for the BC Book awards, and recipient of an honour of distinction from the Writers Trust of Canada for emerging LGBTQ writers. 

Ben Ladouceur is the author of Otter, which won the Gerald Lampert Award for best poetry debut in Canada and was nominated for a Lambda Literary Award. In 2018, he received the Dayne Ogilvie Award for Emerging LGBT Writers. His second book Mad Long Emotion is out in spring 2019.

Jordan Abel is a Nisga'a writer and the author of Injun (winner of the Griffin Poetry Prize), Un/inhabited, and The Place of Scraps (winner of the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize). Currently, Abel teaches Indigenous Literatures and Creative Writing at the University of Alberta.


March 27–30, 2019
Portland, OR

Oregon Convention Center