S149. Indigenous Poetics: A Reading by Emerging Poets from the Institute of American Indian Arts MFA Program

B114, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Saturday, March 30, 2019
10:30 am to 11:45 am


This reading by recent alumni of the Institute of American Indian Arts is a gathering of emerging poetic voices who all identify as Indigenous. Varied in age, gender identity, and sexual orientation this reading promises to be as diverse as it is enthralling. These poets who come from all parts of the country have committed themselves to the act of rewriting the literary landscape by proving that Indigenous poetics is both vital and vibrant.



Arianne True (Choctaw, Chickasaw) is a queer poet, folk artist, and teacher from Seattle, and a recent MFA graduate of the Institute of American Indian Arts. Arianne has been a guest editor for Cloudthroat and taught with Writers in the Schools and the Richard Hugo House, among others.

Jake Skeets is Black Streak Wood, born for Water's Edge. He is Diné from the Navajo Nation. A graduate of the low-residency Institute of American Indian Arts MFA program, he currently resides in the Navajo Nation and works at Diné College. He is one of the winners of the 2018 "Discovery"/Boston Review Poetry Prize.

Michaelsun Stonesweat Knapp, of the Costanoan-Rumsen Carmel Band of Ohlone Indians, graduate of the Institute of American Indian Arts's low-residency MFA program, is the winner of the 2016 Muse Times Two poetry contest, was nominated for a Pushcart Prize, was a Periphery Poets Fellow, and was a former editor of poetry for Mud City.

Joaquín Zihuatanejo received his MFA in Poetry from the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, New Mexico. He is the recipient of the Robert Dana-Anhinga Prize for Poetry and his new book is Arsonist.

Angie Trudell Vasquez is a poet, writer, and social justice activist. She received her MFA in Creative Writing, specifically poetry, in May 2017 from the Institute of American Indian Arts. Her work has appeared in print, online, and on stage nationally and internationally for the last twenty years.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center