S271. Collaboration & Emergence: Chapbooks at the Crossroads

Room 607, Washington State Convention Center, Level 6
Saturday, March 1, 2014
4:30 pm to 5:45 pm


Chapbooks are a vital locus of collaboration, a dynamic form where poets, editors, artists, and bookmakers co-produce an object that allows careers to emerge and audiences to expand. A form distinguished by compression, innovation, and local relevance, the chapbook is also a fulcrum in the process of developing the scope of a literary career. Writers and editors from Slapering Hol Press, the small press imprint of the Hudson Valley Writers' Center, explore the potential of this creative nexus.



B.K. Fischer is the author of two books of poetry, Mutiny Gallery, winner of the T. S. Eliot Prize, and St. Rage's Vault, winner of the Washington Prize, as well as Museum Mediations, a critical study of ekphrasis. She is co-editor of Slapering Hol Press and poetry editor at Boston Review.

Sean Nevin is the author of Oblivio Gate and A House That Falls. His honors include a Literature Fellowship from the NEA, the Robinson Jeffers Tor House Prize, and two fellowships from the Arizona Commission on the Arts. He directs Drew University’s MFA in Poetry & Poetry in Translation Program.

Suzanne Cleary, poet, has published three books: Beauty Mark, Trick Pear, Keeping Time. On the core faculty of the Converse College MFA in Creative Writing Program, she teaches at SUNY Rockland, and she is a member of the National Book Critics Circle. Her awards include a Pushcart Prize.

Liz Ahl is the author of the poetry chapbooks Luck, A Thirst That's Partly Mine, and Talking About the Weather. She has held residencies at Jentel, Kimmel Harding Nelson Center for the Arts, and the Vermont Studio Center.

Amy Lemmon is the author of poetry collections Fine Motor and Saint Nobody, and coauthor, with Denise Duhamel, of ABBA: The Poems and Enjoy Hot or Iced: Poems in Conversation and a Conversation. She is Professor of English at the Fashion Institute of Technology-SUNY in New York City.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center