S193. Thirty Years of Influence Across Genres in Indigenous Literature: Tribute to Diane Glancy

Room 18 & 19, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


Diane Glancy has won major awards in every literary genre with fifty published novels, memoirs, edited anthologies, and collections of short fiction, essays, and poetry, twenty produced plays, and three films. In this interactive discussion, panelists from different fields of Indigenous literature will discuss Glancy's literary legacy and the impact she's had on the next generation of Indigenous writers and on the landscape of American literature across genres.


Linda Rodriguez’s novels and books of poetry have received awards, such as Malice Domestic Best First Novel, Latina Book Club Best Book of 2014, Midwest Voices & Visions, Elvira Cordero Cisneros Award, Thorpe Menn Award, Ragdale and Macondo fellowships. A short story has been optioned for film.

Diane Glancy is professor emerita at Macalester College. Her latest books are The Collector of Bodies, Concern for Syria and the Middle East, poetry, Mary Queen of Bees, a novella, The Servitude of Love, short stories, and an anthology, The World Is One Place, Native American Poets Visit the Middle East.

Mary Kathryn Nagle, Cherokee Nation, is Executive Director of the Yale Indigenous Performing Arts Program and partner at Pipestem Law. A prose writer and Public Theater Emerging Writers Group Fellow, she is author of a dozen plays, including Manahatta, Fairly Traceable, and Sliver of a Full Moon.

Denise Low, Kansas Poet Laureate 2007–9, is author of The Turtle’s Beating Heart: One Family’s Story of Lenape Survival and Jackalope, among thirty books. She copublishes Mammoth, a literary press. At Haskell Indian Nations University, Low founded the creative writing program. She is a former AWP board president.

Bruce Bond is the author of eighteen books including Black Anthem (Tampa Review Prize), Gold Bee (Helen Smith Award, Crab Orchard Award), Sacrum, Blackout Starlight: New and Selected Poems 1997–2015 (Phillabaum Award), and Rise and Fall of the Lesser Sun Gods (Elixir Poetry Prize).


March 27–30, 2019
Portland, OR

Oregon Convention Center