F279. Women on the Verge: A Reading

Meeting Room 9 & 10, Marriott Waterside, Third Floor
Friday, March 9, 2018
4:30 pm to 5:45 pm


Lady Macbeth, Elena Greco, Miss Havisham—some of the most memorable woman characters in literature have been the angry ones. Nonetheless, writers are often criticized, or overlooked, for bringing to life so-called unrelatable, unlikable woman characters. What are the delights of writing angry women whom some readers might find to be off-putting? What could be potential risks and difficulties? Join five fiction writers as we read from and discuss passages featuring the women we’ve made.



R.O. Kwon’s first novel, Heroics, is forthcoming. Other writing has appeared in Noon, The Guardian, and elsewhere. The recipient of a 2016 NEA fellowship for fiction, she has also received awards from Yaddo, MacDowell, Omi International, Bread Loaf, and the Sewanee Writers’ Conference.

Rachel Khong is a writer living in the Bay Area. Her fiction has appeared in American Short Fiction, Joyland, and Tin House. She's the author of the novel, Goodbye, Vitamin. She received her BA in English from Yale University, and her MFA in fiction from the University of Florida.

Alice Sola Kim is a winner of a 2016 Whiting Award. Her fiction has been published in Tin House, McSweeney's, Lenny Letter, and Asimov's Science Fiction. She has received fellowships and grants from the MacDowell Colony, Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, and the Elizabeth George Foundation.

Katie Kitamura is the author of Gone to the Forest and The Longshot, both finalists for the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award. Her third novel, A Separation, was a New York Times Editors Choice, and it will be translated into fourteen languages.

Claire Vaye Watkins is the author of Gold, Fame, Citrus and Battleborn, winner of the Story Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize, the Young Lions Fiction Award, and others. A Guggenheim Fellow and one of Granta's Best Young American Novelists, she is an assistant professor at the University of Michigan.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center