S208. Writ Large: Expansion in the Short Story

Meeting Room 1, Marriott Waterside, Second Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


William Strunk said, “Vigorous writing is concise.” Professors and craft books tend to agree, emphasizing the importance of cutting and concision. However, what’s good for the sentence is not always good for the story. Our panel suggests that sometimes a story benefits from more, not less. We examine ways to know if a story needs another dimension and in those instances, discuss strategies the writer might explore to help their stories find their best length.



Siân Griffiths directs the creative writing program at Weber State University. Her creative work is published in The Georgia Review, Fifth Wednesday Journal, Redivider, and other journals. Her novel Borrowed Horses was a semi-finalist for the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award. sbgriffiths.com

Eric Sasson is the author of the story collection Margins of Tolerance and the novel Admissions. For three years, he wrote CTRL-ALT, a column on LGBT culture for The Wall Street Journal. His writing has appeared in numerous publications, including The New Republic, VICE, Salon, and GOOD magazine.

Caitlin Horrocks is author of This Is Not Your City plus a forthcoming novel and story collection. Work appears in The New Yorker, Best American Short Stories, PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories, Pushcart Prize, and others. Editor at The Kenyon Review, she teaches at Grand Valley State University.

Marie-Helene Bertino is the author of Safe as Houses and 2 A.M. at the Cat's Pajamas. She teaches at NYU and in the MFA program at the Institute for American Indian Arts. An O. Henry and Pushcart Prize winner, she is the current Frank O'Connor International Short Story fellow in Cork, Ireland.

Diane Cook is the author of the story collection, Man V. Nature and was a producer for the radio show, This American Life. She received a 2016 fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. Her stories have appeared in Harper’s, Tin House, Granta, and elsewhere.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center