S131. Leap: Disjunction, Disconnection, and Useful Dissonance in Contemporary Poetics

Room 22, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
9:00 am to 10:15 am


We leap because we want to jumpstart a traditional narrative, and take it up and out in a metaphorical rocket, adding lyrical and meditative weight to an otherwise predictable poem. We leap because it is a way to violently birth the poem, then lift it to the world as a gesture of greatness, a 360 degree display of the deep unconscious. The panel will discuss the origins of leaping, from the deep image poets of the 1960s to our contemporary poets.



Laura Minor is the recipient of the 2016 Emerging Writers Spotlight Award, chosen by D.A. Powell. Her poetry has most recently appeared in Berfrois, Queen Mob's Tea House, Hobart, and Spring Gun Press. She is currently a doctoral candidate in poetry at Florida State University.

Mark Bibbins is the author of three books of poems, the most recent of which is They Don't Kill You Because They're Hungry, They Kill You Because They're Full. He teaches at The New School and Columbia University, and edits the poetry section of The Awl.

Josh Bell is the author of the poetry collections No Planets Strike and Alamo Theory. He is Briggs Copeland Lecturer at Harvard University, has taught at Columbia University and the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop, and is the recent recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Jillian Weise is the author of The Amputee's Guide to Sex, The Colony, and The Book of Goodbyes. Recent work appears in Boston Review, Poetry, and The New York Times. She teaches at Clemson University.

Carmen Giménez Smith, publisher of Noemi Press, is professor of English at Virginia Tech. Most recently, she is author of Cruel Futures and Be Recorder. Her last poetry collection, Milk and Filth, was a finalist for the NBCC Award.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center