S260. More Than Numbers: The Roots of Inclusion

Room 23, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
3:00 pm to 4:15 pm


Efforts towards inclusion in creative writing programs sometimes neglect the systemic roots of exclusion. Five community college professors who work with immigrants, working-class communities, border-crossers, people with disabilities, veterans, rural populations, Latinx, and African-diasporics offer strategies for fostering more radical pedagogical/program inclusivity through intentional engagement with systems/communities outside the classroom.


Maria Brandt directs the creative writing program at Monroe Community College in Rochester, New York, and she is author of the novella All The Words and the short-play collection NY Plays. Her short fiction has been published in several literary magazines, and her plays have been developed or produced around the country.

Magin LaSov Gregg is an assistant professor of English at Frederick Community College. Her writing has appeared or is forthcoming in The Washington Post, The Dallas Morning News, The Rumpus, Hippocampus magazine, Under the Gum Tree, Bellingham Review, and a few anthologies.

Minerva Laveaga Luna is a fiction and essay writer. She has an MFA in creative writing from UTEP. Her work has been anthologized in Argentina and the US. She is an assistant professor at El Paso Community College and serves in the Board of Directors for BorderSenses and the Border Art Residency.

Samantha Mabry is the author of the novels A Fierce and Subtle Poison and All the Wind in the World, both of which were published by Algonquin Young Readers. She teaches English and Latinx Literature at El Centro Community College in Dallas, Texas.

Marianne Taylor is a prizewinning poet whose manuscript, Salt Water, Iowa, has been a finalist in prestigious contests. Her work appears widely in national journals and anthologies; she also writes and directs plays and teaches creative writing and literature at Kirkwood Community College, Iowa.


March 7–10, 2018
Tampa, FL

Tampa Convention Center & Marriott Tampa Waterside