S284. Iowa Poetry Prize 30th Anniversary Poetry Reading

Room 18 & 19, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
4:30 pm to 5:45 pm


The Iowa Poetry Prize celebrates its 30th anniversary with a reading by five past winners from different points in their careers, each of whom represents the prestigious lineage of aesthetic diversity and rich history indicative of the University of Iowa Press. First awarded in 1987, the Iowa Poetry Prize has continued its commitment to the vital role played by university presses and publishers of scholarly and creative works that may not attract commercial attention.


Timothy Daniel Welch is the author of Odd Bloom Seen from Space, winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize, and was the Jay C. and Ruth Halls Poetry Fellow at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Institute for Creative Writing.

Susan Wheeler is the author of a novel, Record Palace, and six books of poetry, most recently Meme, which was a finalist for a National Book Award. She is a professor at Princeton University.

Lindsay Tigue is the author of System of Ghosts, winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize. She is a PhD student in creative writing at the University of Georgia and a graduate of the MFA program in creative writing and environment at Iowa State University.

Samuel Amadon is the author of Listener, The Hartford Book, and Like a Sea. His poems have appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry, American Poetry Review, and elsewhere. He teaches in the MFA program at the University of South Carolina, and edits the poetry journal Oversound with Liz Countryman.

Cole Swensen is the author of seventeen books of poetry, most recently On Walking On. A 2006 Guggenheim Fellow, she has won the Iowa Poetry Prize, the SF State Poetry Center Book Award, and the 2004 PEN/USA Award in Translation, among others. She teaches in literary arts at Brown University.


March 7–10, 2018
Tampa, FL

Tampa Convention Center & Marriott Tampa Waterside