R295. LGBTQ Caucus

Room 3 & 4, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Thursday, March 8, 2018
6:00 pm to 7:15 pm


The LGBTQ Writers Caucus provides a space for writers who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer to network and discuss common issues and challenges, such as representation and visibility on and off the literary page; and how to incorporate one’s personal identity into their professional and academic lives. The caucus also strives to discuss, develop, and increase queer representation for future AWP conferences, and serve as a supportive community and resource for its members.


Tiff Ferentini is the current marketing manager for Monkey Business International and the President of AWP's LGBTQ Writers Caucus. Their work has appeared in The Gambler; Off the Rocks, the LGBTQ Anthology of Newtown Writers Press; and Songs of My Selfie: An Anthology of Millennial Writing.

Miguel M. Morales grew up as a migrant farmworker. A Lambda Literary Fellow and alum of VONA/Voices and Macondo Writers Workshop, his work appears in several anthologies and literary journals. Miguel is coeditor of Pulse/Pulso anthology for Orlando. He also serves as VP of the LGBTQ Writers Caucus.

Jay McCoy is a freelance writer/editor. He is co-owner of Brier Books, an independent book shop in Lexington, Kentucky. Jay teaches and mentors through the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning. He cofounded the Teen Howl Poetry Series for young writers and the Talking to the Sun Open Mic.

Samantha Tetangco has an MFA in fiction. Her stories, essays, and poetry has appeared in The Sun, Gargoyle, Phoebe, Gertrude, and others. She currently teaches writing at the University of California Merced.

Sean Patrick Mulroy is an internationally recognized poet and performer who has been featured on Button Poetry and Russell Simmons’s Def Poetry Jam, a 2013 Lambda Literary Fellow, and an MFA candidate in poetry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


March 27–30, 2019
Portland, OR

Oregon Convention Center