S223. Autumn House Press: 20th Anniversary Reading

Room 15, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Saturday, March 10, 2018
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


Autumn House Press was founded in 1998. Since its launch, the press has been dedicated to serving and publishing the best works from emerging authors as well as established writers who have been overlooked by major publishers. For the press’s 20th anniversary, the founder, Michael Simms, will talk about the press’s history and mission, and four AHP authors will read from and briefly discuss their work.


Michael Simms founded Autumn House Press in 1998 and served as editor in chief until 2015 when he started Vox Populi, a public sphere for politics and poetry. Simms is the author of The Fire-eater, The Happiness of Animals, and Black Stone, and he has been the lead editor of over 100 published books.

Jane Satterfield has published five books, including Apocalypse Mix, winner of the 2016 Autumn House Poetry Prize. She is the recipient of an NEA poetry fellowship, the 49th Parallel Poetry Prize, Ledbury Festival Poetry Prize, and more. She is an associate professor at Loyola University Maryland.

Patricia Jabbeh Wesley’s five collections of poetry include When the Wanderers Come Home; Where the Road Turns; and Becoming Ebony. A survivor of the Liberian civil war, Patricia’s poems explore war and survival. She is associate professor of English and creative writing at Penn State Altoona.

Dickson Lam

Tom Noyes


March 7–10, 2018
Tampa, FL

Tampa Convention Center & Marriott Tampa Waterside