F252. School of Exactly One: C.D. Wright Memorial, Sponsored by Copper Canyon Press

Ballroom B, Washington Convention Center, Level Three
Friday, February 10, 2017
3:00 pm to 4:15 pm


The New York Times wrote that poet C.D. Wright was so original, so fiercely independent, that she belonged to "a school of exactly one." C.D. died unexpectedly in early 2016, just before her new book, ShallCross, appeared. To honor her life, legacy, and legendary generosity, three celebrated writers and her longtime editor share her poems, their personal stories about C.D., and a conversation about how C.D.'s poems and collaborations are high art and groundbreaking tools for social justice.



Michael Wiegers is the editor in chief of Copper Canyon Press, and the poetry editor of Narrative magazine. The editor of What About This: Collected Poems of Frank Stanford, he translates poetry from Spanish and has edited books from around the globe by poets at every stage in their careers.

Ben Lerner is the author of two internationally acclaimed novels, Leaving the Atocha Station and 10:04, and three poetry collections, The Lichtenberg Figures, Angle of Yaw, and Mean Free Path. He holds a BA in political theory and an MFA in creative writing from Brown University, and has received fellowships from the Fulbright, Guggenheim, and MacArthur Foundations. Lerner is a professor of English at Brooklyn College.

Dana Levin is the author of four books of poetry, most recently Banana Palace. A recipient of honors from the Rona Jaffe, Whiting, and Guggenheim Foundations, she splits her time between Santa Fe, New Mexico, and Maryville University in St. Louis, where she is Distinguished Writer in Residence.

Rikki Ducornet is the author of nine novels as well as poetry, fiction, and essays (The Monstrous and the Marvelous; The Deep Zoo). Finalist for The National Book Critics' Circle Award, she has received a Lannan Award for Fiction, The Bard Medal in Arts and Letters, and an Academy Award in Literature.

Pura López-Colomé is the author of twelve books of poems, most recently, Via Corporis. Her essays have been collected and published by Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México under the titles, Afluentes and Imperfecta semejanza. She has received numerous honors, including the Premio Xavier Villaurrutia, the Premio Nacional Alfonso Reyes, and the Linda Gaboriau Award. She has translated poetry by Seamus Heaney, collected in a bilingual edition, under the title, Seamus Heaney: Obra Reunida, Philip Larkin, and William Carlos Williams. She lives in Cuernavaca, Mexico.


March 8–11, 2023
Seattle, Washington

Washington State Convention Center